Mooting news and competition results

News archives - 2003 - 2004 season

Here's what was hitting the mooting headlines in 2003-2004:

News and announcements:

  • India - those interested in mooting in Mumbai should contact Shreyas Sridhar, General Secretary of the Moot Court Association at the Government Law College in Mumbai. The 6th DM Harish Memorial - Government Law College Moot Court Competition was held in Mumbai between 11 and 13 February 2005, when the Competition, regarded by many as the best of its kind in India, was open to international entrants for the first time.


  • ESU - Essex Court Chambers National Mooting Competition

    Bristol University is the winning team in this year's ESU - Essex Court Chambers National Mooting Competition. Tom Shepherd and James Weale beat off Julius Komorowski and Fiona MacDonald representing University of Glasgow in the exciting evening final, which was held at the Royal Courts of Justice. This is the third time the University of Bristol has taken the prize in the history of the competition.

    Now in its thirty second year, the competition was judged by a panel chaired by Lord Millett.

    You can see a photo of the judges and winning mooters here.

  • OUP National Mooting Competition

    The 2004 final (on reverse burdens of proof in criminal law) was held at Oxford University Press in July, and was judged by Gordon Goldberg of the University of Buckingham.

    The winners were Anne Gray and Carolyn Meikle of the University of Essex leaving Benjamin Wood, Victoria Ailes and Matthew Parfitt of City University close runners-up. The other finalists were the University of Warwick, the University of Lincoln, Sheffield Hallam University and the University of Reading.

    More details and photographs are available here.

  • McKinnell's Lincolnshire Moot

    Richard Antuch and Mark Chatterton of Lincoln University won the 2004 Lincolnshire Moot. For details of next year's event, or to enter, email Simon Reed -

Other news pages:

MootingNet homepage